Unleashing the Memories

It is amazing at what simple things can fill my mind with memories, so basic and original, that most people wouldn’t want to listen about. The happiness I find from pure confusion and just wandering, acting like I have a plan. However, I really don’t have a plan at all. All I know is that I have a destination in mind, but no directions to get there. Kind of ironic when recently I answered a question of what my personal strength may be with the 6 P’s. The 6 P’s are Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance.

The 6 P’s originated with my Grandpa, and have been handed down through my Dad to me. It involves planning, organizing, arriving, and completing what you started out to do. If I want to do something, I need to plan it out. My lack of planning was showcased in our class trip to Haigh’s Chocolate factory. I knew we had to take the tram to get there, walk a few minutes, and eat lunch somewhere along the way. Basic planning is all I had done. I had done my research only through a pamphlet, failing to research bus schedules and prices, read reviews, and gather others advice. Organizing involves working with others schedules and fitting them into what I have planned. Always arrive early, no matter what, so that when others arrive, you have everything sorted out. Always finish what you started out to do, even if it some adjustments must be made. If you set out to do something or try something, don’t let anything set you back. I was on a mission for chocolate. Although our journey in search of Haigh’s lacked the 6 P’s, I learned that memories could be made and remembered through spontaneous stops along the way.

Wandering Rundle Mall, faced with hunger and varying taste buds, an unplanned stop at the food court was necessary. This stop reminded me of my family and when we go out to eat. Although most of the time my Dad heavily researches our food options before we leave the house, sometimes we do what we call punt, and eat wherever looks best when we get there. My Dad and I pretty much always choose to go to a hamburger place, where my Sister and Mom prefer salads and Chinese food. One thing is for certain though, we always have a definite stop after our meal for chocolate. We aren’t picky about our chocolate. It can come on a donut, cake, ice cream, or just a regular chocolate bar.

Touring the Haigh’s Chocolate factory provided me with this chocolate experience I am so used to having after a meal with my family. Walking around the store and production facility, I could pick out exactly what my family would get. My Mom would go right for the dark chocolate, while my Dad loves the chocolate with the salted caramel filling. My sister on the other hand loves white chocolate, and would have gotten a bag of the white Santa Claus clearance chocolate. Just being at the Haigh’s chocolate factory and eating a hamburger for lunch reminds me of great times spent in Oregon with a family called the Haighs. I spent two summers working in Oregon, and one of my favorite parts besides all the great people was the food. Every Friday night, we would all gather at Haigh’s house where they would make the best hamburgers and fresh cut fries I have ever had. That’s a food review coming from a hamburger connoisseur.

These great memories of going out to eat with my family and our search for chocolate after, along with a summer of my favorite hamburgers with the Haigh’s, were all brought on because of my lack of proper planning. Every now and then it’s time to put your strengths behind you and just go for it. Although this isn’t what I was planning on doing when we set out for Haigh’s Chocolate factory, the memories that I made and remembered by lacking the 6 P’s were well worth it. I know one thing I learned is that the lack of Proper Planning doesn’t always lead to Piss Poor Performance. The chocolate was well worth our spontaneous stops and illegal tram rides.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.